06 April 2012

Silver Lining for U13 boys team at English National Cross Country (25th February 2012)

Superb running from the U13 boys resulted in the silver medal at the National Cross Country at Parliament Hill. The course is notorious for being tough, but the youngsters dealt with it's inclines with tremendous maturity.
Ben Dijkstra ran an incredible race to finish just outside the medals in 4th place. Ben was with the leaders throughout the race but the eventual winner broke a gap on the last down hill and then it was left to the others in a sprint finish to the line.
Alfie Thompson followed Ben home in 8th place and only 13 seconds behind. The youngster, like Ben, has been consistent throughout the season but it has been the back up of James Bell (56) and Josh West (63) who on this occasion made up the winning team.

Bottom age in the U17 women's race Amy Griffiths ran despite suffering the effects of a cold and finished in 6th place. As a result of her placing and her cross country results to date, Amy has been selected to compete for England at the ISF World School Cross Country in Malta in March! This is a fantastic achievement and a real honour for Amy and the club.

Mari Smith (U15 girls) ran an solid race to finish in 10th place. The talented youngster showed her determination to keep amongst the top runners.

Full results:
U13 Girls: Caitlin Roper (76) Serena Moore (164) Georgia Smith (211) Chloe Foster (264) Emily Foster (317) Katie McDonald (346)
Overall team 27th place
U13 Boys: Ben Dijkstra (4) Alfie Thompson (8) James Bell (56) Josh West (63) Pascal Bouttier-Butler (74) Edward Thomas (156) Ben Tansley (190) Daniel McAtee (219) Ben Masser (268) Tom Jackson (281) Oliver Freer (303)
Overall 2nd place
U15 Girls Mari Smith (10) Lucy Palmer (91) Shannon Anderson (236) Rebecca Griffiths (285) Lucy Whitehead (312)
Overall team 19th place
U15 Boys Sam Elliott (43) Tom Loring (47) Cameron Hart (122) James Owen (210) Luke Beeby (235) Amrik Gill (322) Cameron Smith (330)
Overall team 8th place
U17 Women Amy Griffiths (6) April Beeby (75) Jasmin Southam (109) Rachel Borrows (126) Bethan Elliott (148)
Overall team 9th place
U17 Men Kristian Edwards (60) Jonny Monk (139) Philip Maddocks (190) Will Rawlinson (218) Connor Haywood (257) Zak Anderson (307)
Overall team 18th place
Junior Men Jamie Short (95)
Junior Women Lucy Crookes (31) Freya Vincent (79)
Senior Women Jo Bradford (90) Chloe Morris (225)

No comments:

Post a Comment