29 April 2015

Middle Distance Squad - Mini Marathon Results

Course record for Ben as he claims victory at Mini Marathon

Ben Dijkstra won the U17 boys race at the Mini Marathon on Sunday 26th April and smashed the existing course record, which had been held by Robbie Farnham-Rose since 2011, by 22 seconds.

Winning by just one second over James Gormley of Yorkshire & Humberside in a sprint finish to the line, his time of 14:00 was enough to ensure that the East Midlands Team also won the team gold medal ahead of the South East Team. It was a tight affair, however, with only 2 points separating the top two teams.

With this event doubling as the National Road Racing Championship, Ben can now add this title to his ever-growing list of achievements.

Caitlin Roper (U17 women) had a terrific race to finish in 18th place with a time of 17:13 for the 3 mile course. Neve Grimes (U15g) also had a great race to record her finish in 18:39 to take 47th place.

No comments:

Post a Comment